Sennheiser E 906

Discussion in 'Recording In Progress' started by Bartholomew3, Feb 22, 2016.

1. Bartholomew3

Bartholomew3 Friend of Leo's

Probably will buy one rather than the 609 cheaper model - anybody use one of these and have an opinion ? Worth twice the price of the 609 ?

I like the fact that it hangs off the amp, don't need a mike stand, has a 3 way control for highs/lows so I can knock-off some top-end.

2. OlRedNeckHippy

OlRedNeckHippy Friend of Leo's

I've been using a 609 on my BFPR for a couple of years now. Our (ex)guitar player uses them too. Our sound guy likes them.
    I played at a place with a house PA a while ago. Their sound guy didn't like them, but stated that he does like the 906, although he was using all SM57s on our cabs.
    I guess it's a personal preference thing. I'm very happy with my 609, but my hearing is shot and the subtle differences other people hear is lost on me.

3. allen082

allen082 Friend of Leo's

I've used both and definitely prefer the 906. I wasn't the one paying for them so I can't say if its worth twice, but it was a noticeable difference for me. More than just subtle.

4. black_doug

black_doug Tele-Afflicted

I've been using the 609 for a few years now. For the extra money the only difference seems to be that it picks up higher frequencies. So then you want to "knock-off some top-end"? You've paid for that top-end. I'm confused.

5. BartS

BartS Friend of Leo's

I had one sold it not a good mic. I guess you can make anything sound passable with enough eq and effects I rather have something that sounds great just as it is. Try an EV re 50 n/d-b The Ev is 10 dollars more and a real microphone the senn 906 is more of a toy. Plus you can mic pretty much anything with the re 50 vocals, rhythm, lead, bass, steel. All sounds stellar.

6. Halo

Halo Tele-Meister