Semi-gloss nitro: how to finish this neck?

Benny Mack

TDPRI Member
Hey folks! I’m nearly done on a neck refinish and am hoping some the experienced folks here can offer advice. This is my first attempt at anything like this—it’s a very amateur rattle-can job in my back yard and I don’t have fancy equipment. (This is also a one-off, so I’m not planning on investing). I’ve been following lots of helpful advice on this forum and the basic process outlined be @eallen here: https://www.tdpri.com/threads/step-...-finish-on-a-maple-neck.1080551/post-10891998. Specifically I’m wondering how to work with semi-gloss nitro when it comes to final finishing, and where to go from where I’m at right now to achieve a nice finish.

Context: This was originally a 2011 American Standard neck in a poly finish that the previous owner had tried to relic, disastrously. I wish I’d taken a before picture. I stripped off all the poly back to wood everywhere except the decal area, and have been building back the finish using Oxford “Aged Clear” and Gloss Clear nitro lacquer (side note: I can’t say enough good things about this company’s products and customer service!). 2 coats of clear, then 4 coats of aged clear for the tint, then 6 coats of gloss clear. I then put two coats of Mohawk “semi-gloss” clear as I thought semi-gloss would be closer to the final look I’m going for. It is going to be paired with a road-worn vintera body in a light relic lake placid blue nitro. My goal was to produce a similar-ish finish to the road worn vintera necks, though I’m not interested in doing fretboard wear or other relicing, except for maybe a bit of light sanding on the back of the neck. Just in the same ballpark--an aged amber colour and a finish that is flatter than mirror glossy to match well with the lightly aged body.