self taught player going on 9 months how am i doing?

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by myersth, Mar 24, 2015.

1. myersth

myersth TDPRI Member

iv been playing since july. im completely self taught everything from my first chords to basic guitar tech. i can play several songs that i will attach links for u to watch. i can do basic hybrid picking. i feel like iv mastered the key of G chords but i still struggle with any other key specially c. every one says im doing good and i understand this takes years to master. im getting disappointed cause im struggling with basic soloing and chickin picking. even tho i can play a song i cant due it 100% even tho id give my self an A or B on what i have learned. the 2 links are me playing Brantly Gilberts bottoms up and luke Bryan roller coaster. im currently learning play it again, this is how we roll, thats my kind of night, and perfect storm. the only other song i can play fully is jake owen what we aint got. i feel like i should be progressing faster, but what i have been told is im trying to learn stuff to hard for lvl(which is good and bad) my goal was to be able to have a few good songs learned by summer so i can play around the fire but right now i have like 1 good one. nothing else i can sing and play. so what do u guys think of my ability and any advice on what i should do to keep out of the platues. i do practice everyday least 2 hours to 4 hours.

2. voodoostation

voodoostation Friend of Leo's