1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Scrap Scratch build - Definitely need advice

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by rojo412, Aug 1, 2019.

1. rojo412

rojo412 Tele-Meister

For quite a while, I've been wanting to build a tube amp from scratch.
    While I know that a kit build is likely the best way to start for a total noob, part of the challenge I'd like to learn about is the ability to start with old parts and make something that works. I'd like to know what I should look for in the wild and figure out how it does what it does.

Yesterday, I ran across this while cleaning out my grandmother's basement:

IMG_5546.JPG
    IMG_5547.JPG
    IMG_5548.JPG
    To be perfectly honest, I don't know if this would even make sense to start with, but it was free, it has a bunch of parts to learn about, and if I can eventually use pieces of it for a small tube amp, that would be great.

First and foremost, can anyone tell me whether this amp would even be something to consider for parts? It's an old Fisher Stereo Receiver. It claims 150w.

The transformers are stamped:
    "T-563-204-926"
    "T-592-152-926-2B"

The tubes are 12AX7s, EL-37s, a 6AU6, SV4GA, and a slew of "6B_6" with "A,B,C, etc".
    As far as I know the 12AX7 are useful, possibly the sockets for others, but none of those tube numbers jive with a particular guitar amp.

I figure worst case, I learn how to take it apart and test the various pieces.

Any help or advice to get me started is very much appreciated.

2. corliss1

corliss1 Friend of Leo's Platinum Supporter

What type of amp do you want to make?

It seems that would likely be a 5V4GA and not an "s" there. That tube is your rectifier and is 5V @ 2A, so that would tell me the PT has enough juice to do a champ or deluxe build most likely.