1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

School project tele

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by Camritch, Feb 8, 2017.

1. Camritch

Camritch TDPRI Member

Hi, I'm a 16 year old student about to embark on a project to build myself a Thin Line Tele, I am a capable woodworker and proficient multi-instrumentalist. Many of the instruments I play are ones that I have built myself so I'm no stranger to making instruments.
    I plan to run a body microphone, SD Hot Rails Bridge and an SD Alnico 2 lipstick on the neck for this, and i mocked up a plan for a wiring diagram for this, featuring two, 3 way switches, a volume for the mic, a master volume and a master tone. I am looking for any suggestions to this diagram, but nothing too major, as I designed it with the aim to have total control over the sound produced, I am mostly looking for input on small errors that I may have made, as this is my first homemade schematic.
    Screen Shot 2017-02-08 at 7.35.19 PM.png

2. jvin248

jvin248 Doctor of Teleocity

I have used the acoustic under saddle wire-type peizo pickup on a Tele, cutting a small channel under the bridge and placing the pickup in line with the saddles. However, like acoustic guitars, it needs a pre-amp. Not sure how your microphone works or not but you should test it and see what you might need. There are some small pre-amps on ebay for a few dollars but then you'll need a battery and battery access. Get one to test.