School me on these Danelectro 59

Discussion in 'Other Guitars, other instruments' started by mimmo, Dec 12, 2019.

1. mimmo

mimmo Friend of Leo's

Hi folks,

I have always dug the Danelectro 59 and scored these two different models at 300 euros each. Around here they go for 400-450, so it is a quite good deal.
    Problem is that I am not an expert so can't understand the differences between theses two guys (concentric pots or not, wooden bridge or not etc.).

Are they worth the asking price?
    Any input would be appreciated.
    Thanks!

Copper.png
    Black.png

Chunkocaster and SecretSquirrel like this.
  2. RadioFM74

RadioFM74 Friend of Leo's

I don’t know anything about those. Only that they are way cool! Good score Mimmo!

Last edited: Dec 12, 2019
    mimmo likes this.
  3. SecretSquirrel

SecretSquirrel Friend of Leo's Ad Free Member

I had one like the second photo, it was MIC in, I think, 2003. My then-girlfriend ended up buying it. Earlier this year she broke up with me and I sure miss that guitar!! :lol:

From what I know, I think 300 euros is a good price. I paid US$300 for mine a few years ago. Someday I'd like to get another one for my very own.

The ones I've tried with the concentric pots, the pots were always broken or messed up. Good concept though, with the right pots.

Chunkocaster and mimmo like this.
  4. mimmo

mimmo Friend of Leo's

Thanks guys!
    I have sent an email to the shop, will see what's gonna happen ;)

5. Chiogtr4x

Chiogtr4x Poster Extraordinaire

Danelectros are wonderful!
    Just did a R&R/Blues/Country gig last night and both our bass player and me pulled out our Danos- bass player has original '60's short scale bass, and I have a '56 U2 RI from the late '90's

With those pickups/ nice comfy light body, a clean amp ( and a way to make it dirty!) You can do anything with a Dano!
    Get one!
    DCP_0003.JPG 20190410_084355.jpg

Chunkocaster and mimmo like this.
  6. uriah1

uriah1 Telefied Gold Supporter