1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

School me on mic preamps

Discussion in 'Recording In Progress' started by NorthenLights, Feb 9, 2021.

1. NorthenLights

NorthenLights Tele-Meister

I've never used a dedicated preamp before. I've pretty much just used whatever was in my audio interface or mixer. However, when I'm checking out recording studios on youtube, it seems like they all are particularly proud of all their pres. I'm kinda getting the impression that a good pre is at least as important as a good mic.

So I was hoping some of you guys could point me in the right direction. What preamps are you using? What kind of sounds are you using them for? Tubes vs SS? Are there holy grail type stuff that everbody swears by? As I've been getting into building pedals lately, I was thinking of building something simple on my own.

2. still_fiddlin

still_fiddlin Friend of Leo's Ad Free Member

Good, current audio interfaces have generally quite good microphone preamps. Many (but not all) have distortion and noise levels that are much better than anything from a few years back. And, they are uniformly neutral in their impact on the signal coming from any microphone. External preamps mostly are used to either provide gain for very low output dynamic or ribbon mics, or to provide "color" that is something a lot of folks want to (e.g.) sound like old recording consoles. I'm not going to get into whether they are worth the money or not, but most folks will agree that they are way down on the list of things that make a difference in your end results, assuming you don't have to have one to provide gain that your interface cannot.