Saying Goodbye To Nickel Frets

Discussion in 'Other Guitars, other instruments' started by Southpaw Tele, Oct 6, 2019.

1. Southpaw Tele

Southpaw Tele Friend of Leo's

I’ve been playing my Warmoth Jazzmaster for three years for about 6 hrs a week (play twice a week, plus practice and rehearsals). The frets from the neck are showing visible wear and there is enough fret left for a level and crowning (6230 frets on a 7 1/4” radius neck), but rather than spend the money on that, I ordered a new neck with 6105 stainless steel frets. I’ll sell the old neck for what I can get. I’m hoping I’m okay with the the taller frets, but I wanted a nice in between size to complement my Squier CV Tele without going medium jumbo.

As a lefty, I usually either buy cheap Squier and Fender models or use Warmoth and put together my own guitars. My next move is going to be another Jazzcaster to replace the Tele (I really love the Tele sound, hate the Tele body) and that will get SS frets, too.

Anyone else switch over to SS?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

oldgofaster likes this.
  2. Matthias

Matthias Friend of Leo's

Thinking about it. I have a battered sub $50 MIJ coming my way that I suspect needs a refret. For that price, I think I’ll practice a refret and considered going stainless steel... The 90s MIJ frets were so soft! However, I hear steel’s harder to work with?

Southpaw Tele likes this.
  3. Southpaw Tele

I think it is, but Warmoth doesn’t charge very much more to do it SS. It might rip up fret tools, though? If you do it, let us know how it goes!

Matthias likes this.
  4. monkeybanana

monkeybanana Tele-Meister

I have EVO on a new acoustic and I love it and I have SS on a Warmoth neck. I normally wear the first few frets pretty quickly probably due to being heavy handed when chording and using a capo. Anyway, not a mark with EVO or SS. I've had the Warmoth neck for a long while too.

5. monkeybanana

monkeybanana Tele-Meister