Safe finishing methods

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by aarongreen123, Sep 12, 2013.

1. aarongreen123

aarongreen123 Tele-Meister

Gents,

Hi guys I am new to building and I'm researching all kinds of things including finishing. It seems like nitro is the most popular option but there are also lots of horrors stories about people blowing themselves up in basements, okay I'm exaggerating a little. My shop is in the basement it has windows but it also has a gas furnace and gas operated hot water heater as well as a guess close dryer. Is there any safe way I can spray lacquer on a small scale one body at a time in my basement without investing thousands into a spray booth? By reading on the Internet it's hard to tell if the risk is blown out of proportion or if it's real, I would rather not die. It's hard to consider other options as it seems like Nitro has the most street cred:) I live in New York so spraying outside while the temperature and humidity is correct narrows it down to about two n a half days a decade:)
    Thanks
    A

2. Ripthorn

Ripthorn Tele-Afflicted

I routinely spray water based acrylic lacquer in my basement. You should still wear a respirator, but there aren't fumes (you just don't want to inhale what is in the air). I like the Emtech EM-6000 from target coatings. I actually needed to spray a solvent finish in central NY, and had to wait from last October until last month to have the right conditions for spraying. With the waterbased stuff, you get very nitro-like performance and none of the fumes. Sure it doesn't have quite the same cred, but it turns out very nice and has a shorter cure time. Others may disagree, but I'm not a strict traditionalist.

3. aarongreen123

That's good to know, I think the water based acrylic will do fine for my first build, simple process?

4. DrASATele

DrASATele Poster Extraordinaire