1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Running 2 Combo's in Stereo

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by Bendyha, Jan 26, 2020.

  1. Bendyha

    Bendyha Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    2,521
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Location:
    Northern Germany
    I've never given it any thought before now, but now that I have a second SC, I guess I will be trying it out.
    What tips do you have for getting the best out of a two amp set-up ?
    I'm tempted to the TC Electronic Hall of Fame 2, but am open to ideas.
    Wally, I know you often use two of these together...or is it three?

    upload_2020-1-26_17-28-55.png
     

    Attached Files:

    Muddywalters and Old Plank like this.
  2. Thin white duke

    Thin white duke Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    46
    Posts:
    2,158
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2017
    Location:
    italy
    I stopped doing it because i could become addicted to stereo or even better wet / dry, for playing live too much hassle so i went back to mono even at home...
     
  3. Larmo63

    Larmo63 Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,188
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2018
    Location:
    Timbuktu, Earth
    I tried it with two amps, I couldn't figure out the ground stack thing.

    I'm stupid.
     
    That Cal Webway likes this.
  4. Nick Fanis

    Nick Fanis Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    6,035
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Location:
    Athens-GREECE
    Although I prefer double mono when using two amps (stereo is useless for live playing since the house PA is always in mono) if you want TRUE stereo you will need a stereo effect pedal (chorus,tremolo,delay etc.) or multieffect.
    Sometimes,not always, phasing issues occur so do a bit of Google search to find out how you can flip the phase of one amp.
     
    Crobbins and Bendyha like this.
  5. '64 Tele

    '64 Tele Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    934
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Location:
    NW Arkansas
    I've used a/b/y pedal and stereo out from last pedal.
    Stereo pedal out was quieter, but a/b/y pedal more flexibility.
    I need a 6v6 amp and el84 amp and different size speakers (10 and 12).
     
  6. rolandson

    rolandson Tele-Holic Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    976
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Location:
    Cascadia
    televillian and Bendyha like this.
  7. RodeoTex

    RodeoTex Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    10,583
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Location:
    Nueces Strip
    I've only played around with an ABY box a little bit but I could sure see where a PR and Origin 20 might be great fun.
     
  8. rze99

    rze99 Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    9,282
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Location:
    South London UK
    been doing this decades. I can use one amp but I won’t.

    Use the radial twin city ABY pedal. Brill. Best splitter. And ground control.

    I set one warmer drier and dirtier the other bright more effected and cleaner. Keep the combos apart.

    If you add a TC mimic pedal and you’ll be in double track heaven.
     
  9. WireLine

    WireLine Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    64
    Posts:
    1,494
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Location:
    Midland TX
    I did this a lifetime ago using an external pre, analog stereo multieffects into the effects returns of couple Peavey Bandits or Special 130s.the impact is pretty addictive, but takes a lot of stage space...

    Still the best overall sound I think I’ve had.
     
  10. AlbertoMilanese

    AlbertoMilanese Tele-Meister Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    227
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2020
    Location:
    Bavaria
    I used to run a Blues Jr and a Vibrolux in Stereo. Sounded great, but I don't play shows for that many people anymore to justify the extra weight. But oh man, that sound was glorious. Feed a few ms of delay 100% wet into the second amp, and you get an instant double-tracked sound. That delay trick is how Jimmy Page used to do it in the 70s, I hear!
     
  11. Bendyha

    Bendyha Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    2,521
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Location:
    Northern Germany
    Actually, I've got a build on the go at the moment...I hadn't thought of making it stereo....Hmmm............:twisted:
     
  12. uriah1

    uriah1 Telefied Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    22,518
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Around
    It is addicting. Actuality did on gigs long time ago. Dirt one side clean other. So unreal I stopped. Simpler. And got out of classic rock. Ever since. Just used basic stereo chorus stomp
     
  13. rangercaster

    rangercaster Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    8,501
    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    Knoxville TN for now
    One amp dry ... one wet ... mix to taste ...
     
  14. JuneauMike

    JuneauMike Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    5,694
    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Location:
    Alaska
    There's been a couple of good vids on this on That Pedal Show about wet/dry rigs.



    One approach is an AB/Y pedal, but you need an active one that can correct ground loop and speaker phase. Latency between amp and PA is also an issue. It sucks spending $100 + for an AB/Y pedal, but I needed all those features eventually.
     
  15. Old Plank

    Old Plank Tele-Afflicted Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    1,211
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Location:
    Maine USA
    I do this with an AC10c1 and a '70 Princeton Reverb, out of an 80's Ibanez chorus ... not looking for the stereo or chorus really or switching but rather just 2 lighter weight amps if extra volume is needed. Sounds great. Sometimes at home for fun I set up my two Vibrolux Reverbs ('67 and '69) and run out of an EHX Stereo Pulsar trem pedal, it is major heavenly!
     
  16. bondoman

    bondoman Tele-Holic

    Age:
    29
    Posts:
    540
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Location:
    vallejo ca
    I will to a certain extent but in reality its a lot like masturbation. Feels/sounds good while your doing it but in a real world application produces nothing. I've even taken it out to a quadrophonic state. Sounds incredible in a studio setting but does nothing for a recording or live setting. Easier to just go with a wet dry mono set up that produces the same results in most cases.
     
  17. rze99

    rze99 Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    9,282
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Location:
    South London UK
    I don’t agree with this at all with respect. I play a lot as the only guitarist. When you have the sound man mic up both amps pan a little left and right it provides are far more impressive sonic stage. The sound man will often tel me that.
     
  18. assquatch20

    assquatch20 TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2019
    Location:
    Tennessee
    If I were using two I would probably do wet/dry or wet/wet stereo or a blend of the two depending on the required effect. I guess you could use a line mixer to blend your dry signal into both amps for a faux w/d/w sorta thing as well. You shouldn't have ground issues with identical amps but with effects on just one amp you might end up reversing phase, so you'll have to deal with that, potentially.
     
  19. Crobbins

    Crobbins Friend of Leo's Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Location:
    Meiners Oaks CA.
    I use a Radial ABY pedal for two amps.


    [​IMG]
     
  20. Keefsdad

    Keefsdad Tele-Holic

    Age:
    63
    Posts:
    688
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2018
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I'm wondering if I could do it with the "stereo" outputs on my DD2 OR CH1
    Ground loop issues, perhaps?
     
    AlbertaGriff likes this.
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.