Ruh Roh...Amp is blowing fuses

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by chet again, Jul 14, 2020.

1. chet again

chet again Tele-Afflicted

I said that I had put in an NOS preamp tube the other day. I started playing it before that and noticed the reverb wasn't working. I switched 12AT7 tubes and played it again to see if the reverb came back. It did and after a couple of minutes the fuse blew.
    I got a new fuse and took out the NOS preamp tubes and played it again today. The fuse blew again.

I notice that a Fender preamp tube I'm using really glows brighter than all the others. Could that be a sign that it's a bad tube?

The amp is my vintage 1965 Super Reverb. It really sounds nice before it blows fuses. LOL!

2. Javier668

Javier668 Tele-Meister

Open it and take a look.

Torren61 likes this.
  3. Milspec

Milspec Poster Extraordinaire Silver Supporter

Start out with no tubes and turn it on....no blow, turn off and insert one tube at a time and repeat until you find the offending tube.

Once you do find it, order some NOS JAN-Phillips 12AT7 tubes and use it for the reverb tube. Those old military tubes can take a beating.

Torren61 likes this.
  4. chet again

So you think it's probably the reverb tube?

5. Dacious

Dacious Poster Extraordinaire

The tube that's glowing brighter - leave that out and try it.

6. Wally

Wally Telefied Ad Free Member

Vintage amp....has it been properly maintained? Anytime a fuse repeatedly blows, imho it is tech time.

mgreene and hepular like this.
  7. ce24

ce24 Poster Extraordinaire

Rectifier tube possibly. My friends DRRI was doing that and that fixed it,..... It was less than a year old.

Dan_Pomykalski likes this.
  8. Wally