Routing for binding on knotty pine body

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by yelemusic, Feb 28, 2016.

1. yelemusic

yelemusic TDPRI Member

Hi there.
    So I got myself one of those knotty pine bodies that Stewmac is selling. I just think those look so cool! I've attached pics.

Since I have never done that before, I'm planning on binding the body.
    However, since the wood is rather knotty (and as one can see, on the back side there's already a small piece chipped away) I was wondering what's the best way to go about this.
    I do have a dremel tool, the Stewmac router base as well as the binding router guide and this router bit also from Stewmac.

I believe this binding router guide will probably be the tool of choice, since I don't have the edge guide, that can also be purchased for the router base.

It's probably wise to start on the back, so if anything goes wrong while I'm still learning, it doesn't matter as much as if it was on the front.

But what do I have to avoid, what's the best way to do it, in order to get a nice clean route? How fast should my dremel spin, is it the right router bit, or should I use a different one? Or is it better to use a manual tool for the job?

Looking forward to your replies :)

Thanks!

Attached Files:

2. I_build_my_own

I_build_my_own Friend of Leo's

It can be done with a drehmel. You will shave of quite some years of lifetime of the drehmel with that. I did that once and regret it. I'd get a router bit with a bearing if you have a full size router.

3. guitarbuilder

guitarbuilder Telefied Silver Supporter

4. Meteorman

Meteorman Tele-Holic

Not so much guitar bodies, but I've run a router on a lot of wood.
    I'd say make sure your bit is new/sharp, and slow way down when you get to those edge knots - if you see/smell smoke you're going too slow...
    Either way, with knots, it seems fate is mostly in the hands of the wood gods on whether it chooses to chip or not.