Rory's Moonchild - What's the correct technical term for this key/mode change?

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by schmintan, Mar 29, 2020.

1. schmintan

schmintan Tele-Meister

Rory Gallaghers Moonchild sounds to be in Am but on bar 9 it changes to G maj as it cycles around the G root, but further analysis makes me think its actually in C maj.

So, my question is, if its in C maj, but bar 9 focus on G as a root, is that just C maj but using the 5th mode?

Or am i overcomplicating and getting it completely wrong?

[​IMG]

2. fenderchamp

fenderchamp Tele-Afflicted Silver Supporter

I just listened to it for a minute, and it sounds like it's a riding the storm out kind of riff. in AM and it really doesn't employ like regular straight Diatonic harmony....I'm no expert or anything but look through this if you like

https://www.ethanhein.com/wp/2014/blues-tonality/

I think this (at bottom from that link) might touch a little bit on what's going on in that song...

I think you can also hear that E7 chord in there (which is of course pointing back to the Am) that would not be Cmaj tonality. It seems like it's in Am to me but in blues (you can almost think of it as A blues or Amaj blues or whatever) And I know that Am/Cmaj are the "same" key in diatonic harmony but when you throw in the rock blues context I think it all gets smeared around a bit. so... I'm no expert at any of this stuff so take what I say for what it's worth.

If you want to know what Rory is up to maybe transcribe the melody and see what sort of notes are there, I imagine Am Penatonic, and learn some of his licks, and you can probably figure out if he's throwing some Am dorian or some Gm penatonic... or whatever in there.