1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Rookie amp questions

Discussion in 'Glowing Bottle Tube Amp Forum' started by JustABluesGuy, Sep 8, 2016.

1. JustABluesGuy

JustABluesGuy Friend of Leo's

I'm new to tube amps as well as low wattage amps and have some rookie questions.

I have Fender Greta, a two watt tube combo with a four inch speaker. I've enjoyed being able to dime it out as I have never been able to do this with my higher wattage amps.

My ignorant questions.

1. If I throw some boost and distortion pedals in front of a tiny dimed out amp with lots of gain, is it possible to damage the tubes and/or the speaker?

I sometimes like the sound of and amp that sounds like it's about to blow. I don't want it "actually" blow! LOL!

2. I hear people talking about speaker break up. Without a lot of experience speaker swapping with an amp how does one determine if they are hearing speaker breakup as opposed to tube distortion? Can that even be explained to someone who hasn't heard it? How far can speakers in general "break up" before they actually break.

I would be very greatful for any feed back on this.

I love my little Greta for practicing when volume is a problem. As far as I know it is almost impossible to find a replacement speaker for it that sounds the same. Some say that other speakers sound better, but just got it and I'm happy with the stock speaker so far and don't want to be "forced" to replace it though my own negligence.

Am I just being a worry wort, or can I throw a DS-1,TS808 and a Klon clone at it all at once and just have at it?

2. grolan1

grolan1 Friend of Leo's

Somewhere in the middle of the flippin country
    I had to goggle what a Fender Greta was... cool amp and with the matching 1x12, very cool.