1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Roland JC-40

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by rhythmjones, Jul 8, 2015.

  1. rhythmjones

    rhythmjones Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    807
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Location:
    Kansas City
  2. BigDaddyLH

    BigDaddyLH Tele Axpert Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    55,536
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Location:
    Kelowna, BC, Canuckistan
    1. I hope they licked the noisy chorus problem that JCs have.
    2. Only 40W? C'mon.
     
  3. richey88

    richey88 Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,735
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Location:
    philly suburbs
    It's a one trick pony, but a damn good trick. Used to gig in the 80's with a spanking new JC-77. Was perfect for that band. Never tried one with dirt pedals
     
  4. simonsp

    simonsp Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,995
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Location:
    England
    35lbs is a good weight for a 2x10 amp. I wish they would rerelease the JC20 (2x5) model, great little practice amp.

    [​IMG]

    Or the 2x8 model, the JC55.

    [​IMG]
     
    dotpc likes this.
  5. BigDaddyLH

    BigDaddyLH Tele Axpert Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    55,536
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Location:
    Kelowna, BC, Canuckistan
    I have this thing for 15" speakers, but I never saw a JC-80.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. BigDaddyLH

    BigDaddyLH Tele Axpert Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    55,536
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Location:
    Kelowna, BC, Canuckistan
    The Quilter Aviator Twin 10 is a wee bit lighter and 200W (2x100W).
     
    dotpc likes this.
  7. BelairPlayer

    BelairPlayer Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,403
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Location:
    NorCal
    Would absolutely get one if the price is right. Don't see a MSRP anywhere. Am I missing it?

    Edit: Just found it at Sweetwater. $599.00 out the door seems high.

    One third of the power, two thirds of the price. Roland seems out to lunch on prices. Between the this and the Blues Cube pricing, I just don't think they have figured out pricing.
     
  8. MilwMark

    MilwMark Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    11,892
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Location:
    near Arnold's
    I don't see it at Sweetwater. Intriguing. 2x10 is my favorite amp configuration. I've tried some SS amps and the "wattage" seemed overblown. 30 watt Blues Cube was a nice sound, but functionally not as loud or punchy as my 15 watt Blues Jr. I wonder how comparable the Jazz Chorus wattage ratings are?
     
  9. BelairPlayer

    BelairPlayer Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,403
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Location:
    NorCal
  10. jondanger

    jondanger Poster Extraordinaire Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    5,850
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Location:
    Charm City, MD
    I've been nurturing a secret desire for a low watt Jazz Chorus. Seems that gum I like is coming back into style.
     
    dotpc likes this.
  11. Rich_S

    Rich_S Friend of Leo's Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    4,879
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    Potsdam, NY
    Forty watts of solid state power does seem light. Why don't they just make it a JC-77? I always preferred the sound of the 77 over the 120. I thought the big 2x12 version was boomy; scary amp to play, with its tons of clean power.
     
  12. kromanomo

    kromanomo Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,297
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NYC
    A lot of the bigger indie bands are running JC120s these days. I think they are smart to offer a similar product with some modern touches and a bit less fire power. For that kind of money though, I'd buy one of the smaller vintage JCs.
     
  13. Vladimir

    Vladimir Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    51
    Posts:
    2,214
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    I'd be interested in this amp only if it had the same old analog SS circuitry. Roland's site keeps mentioning "JC Clean" so I hope it's not based on a COSM model.
     
  14. Hollandcaster

    Hollandcaster Tele-Holic

    Age:
    48
    Posts:
    779
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Wagenberg, Holland
    Bause of the 40th aniversary.
    We have to wait 33 yrs....:D
     
  15. soulman969

    soulman969 Telefied Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    22,582
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Location:
    Englewood, CO
    It's interesting to see Roland getting more aggressive in designing and building new offerings again besides the basic Cube Series.

    A 60w JC version might have been a little more versatile but I'm sure for the market they're after this 40w version will do the trick. I have a 40w 1x10 Cube XL that is a whole lot ballsier than it would appear to be given it's size.

    It's also quite easy to boost volume with a clean boost pedal when needed. Some of us are getting older and smaller and lighter is getting very attractive. :D
     
  16. Octave Doctor

    Octave Doctor Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,953
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Location:
    Morgantown, WV.
    Roland knows all about pricing, they're always too expensive.
     
  17. simonsp

    simonsp Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,995
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Location:
    England
    I really like the idea of Stereo Input. I wonder if they've tuned the amp to throw the sound into a wide stereo field. Seen in that light, 20watts per channel seems a bit measly.
     
  18. BigDaddyLH

    BigDaddyLH Tele Axpert Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    55,536
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Location:
    Kelowna, BC, Canuckistan
    The whole 40 years ~ 40W is goofy.
     
  19. Unadan

    Unadan Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    633
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon Metro
    Totally agree. If it has the old discrete analog circuit I might be interested as well. COSM/modeling = no.
     
  20. BelairPlayer

    BelairPlayer Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,403
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Location:
    NorCal

    I don't think it makes any sense for it to be anything but discrete circuitry. In in of the NAMM videos the Roland representative is asked directly if the circuit is identical and the answer is that they had a little trouble sourcing some components, but it was essentially unchanged. Close enough in my mind.
     
    dotpc likes this.
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.