1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Rocksmith for Xbox - real guitars

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by GuruAtma, Sep 23, 2012.

1. GuruAtma

GuruAtma TDPRI Member

I thought I'd post my thoughts on this new video game. If you've played or heard of Guitar Hero, you know it uses toy guitars with buttons instead of strings or frets.

Rocksmith is a new game where you use your own real electric guitar. You plug in with a special quarter inch-usb cable to the xbox.

It can tell what string/fret you're playing, whether you're doing a bend, hammer on, slide, double-stop, etc.

I was skeptical at first---maybe it would be good for a complete beginner, but not for someone who has experience. I was wrong. It is pretty fun. In just a couple days I've learned new songs that probably would have taken me longer to do with just a tab sheet and an ipod.

It's similar to the other games, where the screen looks like a guitar neck and the notes come scrolling down the strings. Sort of like tab coming at you head-on. It's nice because it starts off very easy--maybe just play the fist note of each measure, but if you're getting the notes right, it quickly ramps up the difficulty to be closer to the real song.

There are games and excercises to play too--all help your playing.

It's not perfect--if you plug into an HDTV, there is some audio lag. This is corrected by running the audio from the xbox directly to external speakers ($5 of radio shack cables).

I kind of miss being able to see the whole song written out before I start to play--it helps you know which parts get repeated and when.