Rock and roll Battle of the Decades: 80's vs. 90's

Discussion in 'Music to Your Ears' started by Leep Dog, May 26, 2011.

1. Leep Dog

Leep Dog Tele-Afflicted

Which decade's rock music do you prefer? I have a soft spot in my heart for both; my musical conscience arrived during the 80's and GnR was the first band I worshipped. Lots of great guitar playing went down in the 80's too.

On the other hand we had a lot of cool stuff in the 90's. Nirvana and grunge, the death of hair metal (praise the lord). I picked up my first guitar in the early 90's too.

I guess I'd have to lean towards the 90's. I like how, in my opinion, guitar playing seemed to shift from technical showcasing to functionality and song writing.

2. greggorypeccary

greggorypeccary Friend of Leo's

I graduated from high school in '86. I hated 80's music then (with few exceptions) and it hasn't gotten better with time. I hated "grunge" and all that too, so the 90's weren't any better with respect to "popular music".
    I spent that time following Phish, Rusted Root, got started with Gov't Mule, Derek Trucks, etc. so I'll take the 90's dispite Nirvana and their ilk.

3. hekawi

hekawi Poster Extraordinaire

i'll go with 80's. the bands/singers that i liked in that decade actually emerged at the end of the 70's but had hits into the 80's: Dire Straits, The Cars, Police, Kate Bush, etc. also Paul Simon had Graceland and Rhythm of the Saints in the 80's

4. DOGMA Dunn

DOGMA Dunn Friend of Leo's

Both are good, however with MTV in the 80s, the trophy goes to the 80s for rock. However, I feel the 70s had some of the best guitar rock music. Although rap/hiphop was emerging in the early 80s, it overpowered the massess during the 90s and was the top pop music. That's when I turned to country/folk music and back to the roots of blues for guitar inspiration.

5. Oster

Oster Friend of Leo's

'80s.

I find most '90s music to be insufferable.

6. jonnyfez

jonnyfez Tele-Afflicted Silver Supporter