Rob Robinette's Micro Champ EF80 Power transformer EU equivalent question.

RicciAntoni_07

TDPRI Member
Hello all, this is my first time posting on this site, so forgive me if I don't have this in the right place or if I am asking a dumb question.

Here is the build--https://robrobinette.com/Champ_Micro.htm#Champ_Micro_EF80

I am going to build Rob's EF80 Micro Champ, but I can't figure out which Toroidal power transformer I can use here in Europe.

maybe this one? https://www.tube-town.net/ttstore/toroidal-30va-8808.html

I am new to all this, so I am hoping to find some help here!

*update, I found a thread from 2012 I think where a guy here in Europe used this one, so I just bought it. Can't wait to try to build this!! But I have zero idea of how to wire it, but I have time to learn. I'll for sure have a ton of questions, so if you are wiling I would kill for someone or a bunch of you to chime in on my questions.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

tschwarz

TDPRI Member
Hi! I've used that PT from Tubetown in several Projects. With a bridge rectifier (no center tap) you can expect 270..280V HT. My amp had an ECC99 P/P power stage. Rob must have made a typo in the schematic, you can't get 370V HT from a 240-0-240 V CT secondary. More like 320..330V. I'd go ahead withbthat PT you got and use a bridge rectifier...

RicciAntoni_07

TDPRI Member
Thank you! I appreciate the response, I hope I can figure all this out, It’s my first build. I need to learn a lot about the power transformer. Will be a dream come true if I can get this to work. I’m a little worried I will be in over my head once I start to wire the pt but I will comb through all the threads on here and ask questions so hopefully I’ll be able to do it!

2L man

Tele-Afflicted
Welcome!