1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Ridiculous Tube Warmup Time (> 1 hr)

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by jeff133, Nov 5, 2020.

1. jeff133

jeff133 TDPRI Member

Greetings, I'm new to tube amps. i have a small, cheap 5W (1 12AX7, 1 6V6GT) that's only about 18 months old. Initially I'd let it warm up for 10-15 minutes and it was great. Over time, it's been taking longer and longer to warm up. Even after 30 minutes, the volume is super low and the tone isn't right. Eventually (now taking well over an hour) the volume and normal tone kick in abruptly and from then on it's fine. Does this mean I already need to replace the tubes? Just the preamp, the poweramp, or both? Or is it likely something entirely different? I've been searching extensively and haven't come across this specific issue, so posing the question myself. Appreciate any assistance. Thanks.

2. MilwMark

MilwMark Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

I don't know anything about amps but something has been "broken" since you got it if initially it took 10-15 minutes for the full volume to kick in.

Frodebro, Piggy Stu and ricknbaker like this.
  3. Paul G.

Paul G. Friend of Leo's

A tube is generally warm enough to pass current in about 40-90 seconds.

Your amp is broken. It's apparently always been broken. Get it fixed.

4. VintageSG

VintageSG Friend of Leo's Ad Free Member

What amp is it?, does it have any sort of power reduction feature? ( which may be at fault, but it's unlikely ).
    One or two minutes tops for small valves to get to temperature. To take more than two minutes would indicate a dry or cracked solder joint to me. As the rest of the system heats up around it, contact is made and the amp works until it cools off. This issue gets worse over time as the joint is flexed and clearances widen.