1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Reverse Control Plate.

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by Digiplay, Mar 19, 2020.

1. Digiplay

Digiplay Tele-Afflicted

I had a Deluxe Nashville that the original owner had reversed the control plate, and I quickly learned to like it.

Please note that I'm new to playing (if what I do would be considered "playing" :)) the guitar, so I don't have any old habits that would be hard to break :)

My main guitar is a 2014 RW 50's that has '51 Nocaster pickups, and the control plate is a Custom Shop Blender Plate.

That being the case, that means that in the traditional control plate arrangement, from top to bottom, the 3-way switch is on top, with the volume knob under that, and under that is the knob that blends the amount of neck pickup I want blended with the bridge pickup.

So I'm wanting to reverse the control plate, but if I do, that means the switch will now be on the bottom, and the selector switch will now be reversed as well, so that means all the way forward (to the left) will now be for selecting the bridge pickup.

Now I understand from a layout perspective, that is reverse logic because the neck pickup is forward/up, and the bridge pickup is down/back on the guitar body.

But as the blend control only blends the bridge and neck pickup, and that's my favorite position to use because I can get some great tones not possible by having the traditional tone control that backs off the high end of both pickup's, I'm curious if any of you have the selector switch reversed as well.

Thoughts and comments?

2. Guitarteach

Guitarteach Doctor of Teleocity

I reversed my plate but also changed the knob order and made the switch normal orientation.

its not really ‘reversing’ the whole assembly, just the plate and redoing the pot & switch order.