Reverend Sensei Jr. - Oh Hell Yes!

Nubs

Friend of Leo's
I was browsing Reverb this morning which is always dangerous, especially when I come across this new model:

5b0efada92f6e26b6aea604f_lsenjr_NAT_main-p-1080.png

Be still my heart! I've never tried nor had a Reverend before. Can someone give me a run-down? Fenders are my preferred brand. How do these compare/contrast?

Thanks!

PS: Link to the page: https://www.reverendguitars.com/guitars/sensei-jr-lefty

Mistercharlie

Tele-Holic
Reverends are great. You’ll find lots of folks here who like them. I had a Charger 290 with a Bigsby, and sold it only because of the Bigsby.

Very nice guitars, amazing looking, like 1950s muscle cars, and killer pickups. I like the bass cut knob too. Every guitar should have one of those. I mean that literally — I put on one my Strat.

You should buy that one.

Reactions: BB

twotone60

Tele-Meister
I have five Reverends, including a Sensei 290 and the guitar in my avatar, which is a Jetstream 390. The thing about Reverends is that you don't need to upgrade anything on them - pickups, electronics, bridge, tuners are all solid and ready to go right off the bat. I don't know why you don't want a neck pickup, but that's strictly your call - I use mine all the time. The other thing that's nice about the Reverend guitars is the bass contour. A guitar with this configuration can get muddy, but a small tweak with the bass contour takes care of that.

Reactions: BB

beninma

Friend of Leo's
That one looks like it's riffing on the Les Paul Jr ?

The bass contour knob looks cool.

Last edited:

twotone60

Tele-Meister
That one looks like it's riffing on the Les Paul Jr ?
Yes, actually like a Les Paul Special, but the korina body with belly cut and the bass contour make it a bit lighter and brighter and the neck carve will be more comfortable for most people. Not to mention superior setup and QC.

BB

Poster Extraordinaire