Reverb tank

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by Clive Hugh, Oct 22, 2018.

  1. Clive Hugh

    Clive Hugh Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    74
    Posts:
    1,228
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    Western Australia
    The reverb on my amp died, to see if it was the tank or electrics I took the tank out and plugged it into another of the same amp, nada so it seems that the tank is dead, going to try the good tank and I see that the rca were plugged into the amp the opposite of the other amp. The amp is not marked + or - so does it matter which one is plugged in where because the tank is marked input and output.
    If it does matter how can I determine which is which. Thanks
     
  2. BobbyZ

    BobbyZ Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    11,771
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Location:
    Snellman MN
    What amp ?
    On a vintage Fender it won't work plugged in wrong, haven't hurt anything yet plugging one in wrong. I am more careful now.
     
  3. Mike Simpson

    Mike Simpson Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    12,312
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Location:
    Gilbert, AZ (PHX)
    Make sure the reverb cables are not the problem.
     
  4. derekirving

    derekirving TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Location:
    santa rosa
    Few things to try (sounds like you've tried a few of these)
    1. Change reverb tube
    2. Put reverb tank in diff amp (if doesn't work one way plugged in, reverse plugs and try again) -- it does make a difference on how the pan is plugged in, there's an input and output
    3. Check rca cables in amp (that's not working)
    4. Investigate the reverb pan, specificaly the thin wires around the transducers (see photo)
    5. Worse case, purchase new reverb pan, they run between $20-$50


    ### I found this photo from someone else on TPDRI
    Hard-wired-Rev.jpg
     
    jondanger likes this.
  5. Clive Hugh

    Clive Hugh Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    74
    Posts:
    1,228
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Thanks guys, I will swap the tank that is working to make sure it is either the tank or tubes, I was just concerned about the plugs but BobbyZ sorted that.
     
  6. wanderin kind

    wanderin kind Tele-Meister

    Age:
    64
    Posts:
    281
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Location:
    Olympia WA
    hi z coil open
     
  7. Clive Hugh

    Clive Hugh Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    74
    Posts:
    1,228
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Swapped the tank and the amp worked just fine, ordered a new one from tubesandmore.com, the post and exchange rate blew it out to Au$82 but still cheaper than local.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.