Restoring one of the wine crate guitars I made in my teens.

Blazer

Doctor of Teleocity
Ad Free Member
Well, a few months ago, I went by the old workshop where I had been building instruments professionally for 18 years until an accident at home destroyed my shoulder in late 2016. I went there to take home some unfinished projects, so I could work on them at home.

But I also rummaged through the rubbish pile, knowing that there's always something interesting in there, and pulled out THIS neck.
DSC03074.JPG

And my former boss told me that it came from a guitar which "Didn't survive the fall from the attic staircase" It has a terrible bow and there are frets missing from the fingerboard. The tuners work but are missing their buttons and the screws that hold them in place are rusted solid.

Nevertheless, I took it with me, knowing that even such a basket case could have its uses.

Last night, I was going through my pile of parts and came across the perfect body to marry that neck to.
DSC03076.JPG

This is one of the wine crate guitars I blundered together in my teens, and one of the least successful one at that. Because back then I had no concept of bracing the top and the guitar collapsed into itself, so for the last 25 or so years, I used it as for what it was originally made for; as a crate.
DSC03078.JPG

Well, this is the intention, I will dovetail the neck in there and to make sure it won't collapse into itself again I did some bracing and reinforcing on the inside.
DSC03075.JPG

Yeah, I admit it, this is not a good display of craftsmanship, but then again it never was. Then I noticed that there was another thing that I should reinforce to at least make this thing playable.
DSC03079.JPG

So what am I going to do with this?

Well, as I said, the neck is terribly bowed and it's missing frets, so it'll be a guitar for slide, and I'll put in one of those reissue Goldfoil pickups, tune it in open G and play the blues.

Blazer

Doctor of Teleocity
Ad Free Member