Replacing electric heat thermostats.

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by HotRodSteve, May 23, 2020.

  1. HotRodSteve

    HotRodSteve Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,408
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Location:
    The Hudson Valley
    Hopefully I won't get electrocuted or burn the house down but I'll be replacing three electric heat thermostats when they arrive from Amazon. Double-pole Honeywells, should be fun. Wish me luck.
     
    String Tree likes this.
  2. dented

    dented Doctor of Teleocity Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    11,109
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Location:
    I-10 East onramp
    What an electrifying experience......

    0511-0810-3119-1735_Cartoon_of_a_Man_Holding_a_Faulty_Electical_Cord_clipart_image.jpg.png
     
    rangercaster and HotRodSteve like this.
  3. Treehouse

    Treehouse Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    May 8, 2019
    Location:
    The Woods
    Does your home have one of those circuit breaker box thingamabobers?
     
  4. RodeoTex

    RodeoTex Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    10,034
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Location:
    Nueces Strip
    Those are probable going to be 24volt, but still...
     
  5. schmee

    schmee Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    10,376
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    northwest
    They are just low voltage. Are you putting in digitals? I thought I wanted a digital on my last house, but turns out I didnt really like it that much. Programmed to come on at a time sounds handy but sometimes, you just dont need it on, or you want it NOW! Went back to old school 'stats and am happy.
     
  6. stratoman1

    stratoman1 Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,409
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, Va
    I was going to replace mine til i counted 18 wires on the back of it
     
    Bassman8 likes this.
  7. String Tree

    String Tree Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    15,073
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Location:
    Up North
    Just make sure the Breaker is turned off before you start.
    LINE is the power In from the Breaker, LOAD is the Power Out to the Heater.
    Stay safe, stay warm.
     
    HotRodSteve likes this.
  8. Milspec

    Milspec Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    4,996
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Location:
    Nebraska
    I agree, all that custom setting sales talk really didn't impress me after installation either. I miss the old school t-stat
     
  9. String Tree

    String Tree Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    15,073
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Location:
    Up North
    2-Pole is usually the domain of 250VAC Resitive wall and ceiling heaters.

    24v is for Furnaces be they Gas or electric.
     
  10. dogmeat

    dogmeat Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    69
    Posts:
    1,512
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Location:
    Alaska
    they are 24 VAC.... thats AC. they can give you a tingle under the right circumstances but I don't think they are much of a danger. usually there is a switch on the boiler/furnace that turns off power. if they use batteries (in the T-stats) there will come a day when the temp in the house is really hot, but the boiler will still be running. thats from the battery being dead. long ways off though... couple years maybe more
     
  11. stormsedge

    stormsedge Tele-Afflicted Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    1,955
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Location:
    Tennessee, USA
    They are easy to install. Follow the instructions. Open the breakers for the hvac system before starting work. Check the leads on the old thermostat for stray voltage with your ohm meter to ensure you have the power off. I've lost count of how many I've changed out.
     
    HotRodSteve likes this.
  12. stxrus

    stxrus Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    68
    Posts:
    4,416
    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Croix, USVI
    What is heating and thermostats?
    Expiring minds want to know
     
    Treehouse likes this.
  13. Glen W

    Glen W Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,873
    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Location:
    CT
    Electric baseboard heat thermostats are switching line voltage - 240VAC - not 24V like for a furnace or boiler. Hire a pro! If not, locate and shut off the (2-pole) breaker. Then use a tester to ensure you got the correct circuit. You should have a separate circuit for each room/area’s thermostat.
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2020
  14. HotRodSteve

    HotRodSteve Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,408
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Location:
    The Hudson Valley
    It sure does and the previous owner actually labeled the breakers correctly, which is nice. But I will test for voltage after flipping the breaker. Don't want to get zapped with 240v.
     
    stormsedge and Treehouse like this.
  15. HotRodSteve

    HotRodSteve Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,408
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Location:
    The Hudson Valley
    Each room's electric heat has it's own thermostat and breaker. And I will test for sure.
     
    Glen W and stormsedge like this.
  16. DonM

    DonM Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter

    Age:
    72
    Posts:
    2,984
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Location:
    Henderson,NV/SLC,UT
    Easy. YouTube is your friend.
     
  17. Treehouse

    Treehouse Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    May 8, 2019
    Location:
    The Woods
    @DonM YouTube is owned by Google. They are only pretending to be your friend.
     
    spellcaster likes this.
  18. DonM

    DonM Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter

    Age:
    72
    Posts:
    2,984
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Location:
    Henderson,NV/SLC,UT
    I don’t care who owns them, they’ve saved my ass several times. Just about everything’s owned by Google or Amazon. That train has left the station a long time ago.
     
  19. Treehouse

    Treehouse Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    May 8, 2019
    Location:
    The Woods
    Cool
     
  20. jumpnblues

    jumpnblues Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    70
    Posts:
    3,270
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Location:
    Midwest
    We have electric base board heat. Even our certified electrician can't get it to work. However, we just use one base board heater for the entire upstairs in the winter. We like to sleep in a cool room so we don't use the base board heater in our master bedroom. It's a small room and a small house. We heat the upstairs with the baseboard heater in the kitchen. The kitchen and living room are open to each other. We don't heat the guest bedroom but it has a functional base board heater. I just wish we could get the upstairs base board heater in the living room in working order. All the rooms on the lower level are heated but we don't use them since we have a wood burning stove in the downstairs living area. Anyway, if we could get the upstairs living room heated we'd be completely in business.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.