Removing hiss

Discussion in 'Recording In Progress' started by telleutelleme, Jan 6, 2013.

1. telleutelleme

telleutelleme Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter

I have a backing track of Santana's Love is You which I really like, but there is a section at about 2:33 which has an underlying hiss (like a tape hiss almost). It goes away around 3:00 and is clean the rest of the way. I've found the track on numerous sites and they all appear to be clones of whomever produced the original. The hiss occurs in the highlighted portion shown below.

audacity001.jpg

http://www.guitarbackingtrack.com/play/santana,_carlos/love_is_you.htm

I'm looking for a method to detect and remove the hiss. There's no lead-in with just the hiss, it's embedded in the track. I have Reaper but I'm really new to it and am not sure how to approach the problem. I tried a couple noise removal methods in Audacity but I am unsure how to isolate just the hiss. My attempts so far have been FAIL. I've included the link to the download in case anyone wants to hear it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. octatonic

octatonic Poster Extraordinaire

I use IZotope RX2 for hiss removal- it is extremely expensive though.
    Waves do some useful noise filtering plugins as well.

You will struggle to EQ it out though.

3. ScatMan

ScatMan Friend of Leo's

I'm not hearing noise there. I hear the ride midi cymbal start there. On the right I hear the sound of a stick playing the bow of the cymbal and what is supposed to be a "ringing" cymbal sound. On the left I hear just the "ringing" type sound without the stick sound.

The ringing sound on this midi sample is pretty bad. Could it be that you are thinking that fake cymbal ring is hiss?

4. Frodebro

Frodebro Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

Yep, that's the ride cymbal.

5. telleutelleme