Remedy for darker end grain?

Discussion in 'Finely Finished' started by kiwi blue, Aug 10, 2020.

1. kiwi blue

kiwi blue Tele-Afflicted

I'm in the process of finishing a swamp ash Tele body for a partscaster project. This is my first attempt at finishing a body, and I have very little woodworking experience in general. I'm learning as I go and really enjoying it.

I'm using pure tung oil and a wood stain. I applied a coat of oil to the body, then a 50:50 mix of oil and a maple wood stain, followed by another coat of oil (letting it dry properly between coats). I'm happy with the front and back but the end grain on the sides is darker than I'd like. The first coat of oil was supposed to stop the stain soaking in too far (something I read somewhere) but didn't work too well on the sides.

Today I've read about some techniques to prevent this in future, but is there any way I can remedy this on the body I have now? Obviously I could add more stain to the front and back so that they match the sides, but I don't want to make them any darker than they already are. If I sanded the sides would that help? Or would I be like the old lady who swallowed a fly and end up having to swallow a horse? It's a really nice body so I'd rather live with the imperfection than ruin it.

2. Dano-caster

Dano-caster Tele-Meister

Can you show some images? I'm having my own problems, but not with stain.Some one who knows will come along so photos may be helpful .End grain seems to be a touchy matter,Hope you get it worked out.

3. Rjelecaster

Rjelecaster Tele-Meister

Your best bet may be to do a burst.

Once the endgrain has gobbled up some stain it usually tends to go nice and deep.

4. Freeman Keller

Freeman Keller Friend of Leo's