1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Relocate tuners?

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by trotters2, Aug 23, 2012.

  1. trotters2

    trotters2 TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ok so I want to body mount the machine heads on the body of my new build can I pin the ends to where the headstock should be use. Tune o matic type bridge and put the machine heads on the body where the tailpiece should be?
     
  2. OpenG Capo4

    OpenG Capo4 Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,829
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Location:
    Athens, GA
  3. Rod Parsons

    Rod Parsons Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    74
    Posts:
    3,161
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Location:
    Winchester, Va.
    YIKES!
     
  4. Engraver-60

    Engraver-60 Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    68
    Posts:
    4,281
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    Brentwood, TN
  5. originalmatthew

    originalmatthew Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    764
    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    It can be done

    I put this together in one day with scrap wood and spare parts.
    It's ugly as H*** but it plays. It started with a neck with a cracked headstock and WAY too much time on my hands.
    It can be done. I may even build one for real!
     

    Attached Files:

  6. jimdkc

    jimdkc Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    64
    Posts:
    2,263
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Independence, MO
  7. OpenG Capo4

    OpenG Capo4 Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,829
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Location:
    Athens, GA
    You could probably mount the tuning heads in a cavity like a lap steel.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.