Relic fan with a relic complaint

Discussion in 'Fender Custom Shop Tele Forum' started by hwy145, Oct 3, 2013.

1. hwy145

hwy145 Tele-Afflicted

First I have and play them. This is just a point of annoyance. I just received a 52 telecaster relic, and though I love it, all the bridge hardware is so rusty, it won't move. I tried adjusting the saddle height on the bridge, and slotted portion literally broke off. Is this common? I'm going to (no big deal) have to replace all this crap. I've never seen an actual old tele with screws that are so rusty- especially pickguard screws...

2. BradL

BradL Friend of Leo's Gold Supporter

This has happened to me. I brought it up recently on Strat Talk with respect to Strats (obviously) but I've experience of it happening with a couple of CS Teles too. FWIW I don't own any CS instruments that aren't relics so I have some experience of them. Out of 10 I own about 3 were in need of replacement parts.

This is a 62 relic where no amount of Plus Gas was gonna shift the barrels. I've had it happen on another one and a question to my dealer about it the other week prompted him to bring out a relic thin-line with replacement hardware due to the same thing.

FWIW I live by a sea coast so maybe, somehow, the salty air in my neck of the woods (the dealer is right on the coast too) is a factor but I seriously doubt it. These came from the Custom Shop that way. Totally fused.

Comes with the territory I guess. Not a biggie for me but caveat emptor and all that.

CS 62 Relic (with relic rust!)
    [​IMG]

3. PinewoodRo

PinewoodRo Tele-Afflicted

That's pretty authentic relicing! I have had scratchplate screws that are so rusty they fell apart - this from genuine playing, not relicing. Seems to me that replacing seized up rusty saddles is normal wear-and-tear. I guess some sweat is more corrosive than others?

4. telex76

telex76 Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter