red plating power tube on fender champ build

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by Joe Les, Oct 23, 2019.

1. Joe Les

Joe Les TDPRI Member

I just finished my first scratch build, a fender 5f1 champ. It sounds great, but I noticed red plating on the 6v6 power tube. Unfortunately, I didn't notice it until I had played through the amp for about a total of an hour over the course of a couple days because the red plating was only occurring on the bottom side of the tube, out of sight.

After some research (I'm new to tube amps), I realized that the bias was probably too hot, the indicators being the red plating and also the fact that the amp has a lot of headroom. However, I am also using a sovtek 5Y3 rectifier, and I read that these are low-quality tubes and that they can also cause red plating.

so, my questions are:
    - is the red plating likely a cause of hot bias, the sovtek rectifier, or both?
    - is anything is the amp damaged other than the power tube?

2. muchxs

muchxs Doctor of Teleocity

No mention of what the 6V6 is.

EH or Tung Sol "reissues" are prone to quickly drifting off, one of the symptoms being red plating.

Your amp probably has high plate voltage and hot bias making it a torture chamber for 6V6s.

Biased Class A means the tube has no time to cool or "rest" like it would in a P-P Class AB1 amp.

Sovtek "5Y3s ' aren't bad tubes. They're not really 5Y3s, either. They're a Russian type closer to a 5AR4.

You probably didn't hurt anything if you played for an hour and the amp sounds good. Don't change a thing, stick a JJ in there. It will probably be just fine.

3. theprofessor

theprofessor Friend of Leo's

Like muchxs said, get a JJ 6V6S and put it in there and see how it sounds. I doubt very much it would redplate. Of course we're not working with any data such as plate voltage or plate current. If you can measure those, that's even more helpful. But if not, just get a JJ 6V6S and see how it does.

muchxs likes this.
  4. Joe Les