Red Fernandes Tele

Discussion in 'Other T-Types and Partscasters' started by Powwerzombie, Jul 6, 2020.

  1. Powwerzombie

    Powwerzombie Tele-Meister

    Age:
    107
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2020
    Location:
    Ohio
    Made in Taiwan.

    Red. (yuk).

    $150. Yay or nay?
     
  2. Powwerzombie

    Powwerzombie Tele-Meister

    Age:
    107
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2020
    Location:
    Ohio
  3. rangercaster

    rangercaster Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    7,620
    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    Knoxville TN for now
    Go for it !!!
     
  4. Powwerzombie

    Powwerzombie Tele-Meister

    Age:
    107
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2020
    Location:
    Ohio
    I did- $100. It's not fiesta red like the pic, it's a darker maroon metallic. Like auto paint.
    Good shape with a padded case.
    Well worth the 140 mile round trip.
     
    tamer_of_banthas likes this.
  5. Powwerzombie

    Powwerzombie Tele-Meister

    Age:
    107
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2020
    Location:
    Ohio
    I'll do a set up in a couple of days. It checks out nice, minus a string....haha.
     
  6. ElJay370

    ElJay370 Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    50
    Posts:
    1,121
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    From the tail end of their copy era. Mid/late 90s. They don’t export these to the states anymore. The Taiwanese made models are a bit low budget, but can be perfectly serviceable after a bit of tweaking. $100 w/ a gig bag is a great deal.
     
    tamer_of_banthas likes this.
  7. tamer_of_banthas

    tamer_of_banthas Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    734
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2019
    Location:
    The Void
    yea i would certainly agree that is a sweet deal. color looks decent too. no regrets!
     
  8. Powwerzombie

    Powwerzombie Tele-Meister

    Age:
    107
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2020
    Location:
    Ohio
    Oh hells, I got no sound. I checked the jack. I checked the PU's 6.8 and 7.8 ohms.

    When I turn the volume up I get an open circuit. down shows 0.00.

    I'm lost when it comes to wiring. Help?
     
  9. ElJay370

    ElJay370 Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    50
    Posts:
    1,121
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    You've got readings from both pickups. That's good. That means it's more than likely a cheap and easy fix. Something's come undone and is shorting the circut. Pics would help.
     
    Fretting out likes this.
  10. stepvan

    stepvan Tele-Meister Silver Supporter

    Age:
    41
    Posts:
    451
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2018
    Location:
    amherst
    Probably a bad solder joint at a component, take the control plate off and wiggle the wires while plugged in and see what u get.
     
  11. Fretting out

    Fretting out Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    28
    Posts:
    4,992
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2019
    Location:
    Land of Mary
    Yes we NEED pictures! Immediately!
     
  12. Powwerzombie

    Powwerzombie Tele-Meister

    Age:
    107
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2020
    Location:
    Ohio
    I am going to try a couple of things- I have an aftermarket switchplate, and I have a basic tele wiring diagram...unsolder it all, and re solder it all.
     
  13. Powwerzombie

    Powwerzombie Tele-Meister

    Age:
    107
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2020
    Location:
    Ohio
    Bad pic 20200706_153608.jpg 20200706_153608.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Powwerzombie

    Powwerzombie Tele-Meister

    Age:
    107
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2020
    Location:
    Ohio
    Another
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Powwerzombie

    Powwerzombie Tele-Meister

    Age:
    107
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2020
    Location:
    Ohio
    I am terrible with wiring, but I look forward to the challenge!
     
  16. ElJay370

    ElJay370 Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    50
    Posts:
    1,121
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Somebody's been fooling around in there. Looks like a ground wire has been clipped off of the back of that tone pot, and unless they were trying for some kind of funky treble bleed circuit, there should only be one green cap.

    I'd tear it all apart and rewire it per a standard Tele wiring diagram.. Maybe get rid of that cheap box switch while I'm at it.
     
  17. Powwerzombie

    Powwerzombie Tele-Meister

    Age:
    107
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2020
    Location:
    Ohio
    Aye aye captain! I don't know much, but it did look a little funky in there.
    I may wait, I have some orange .22uf caps coming in a couple of days.

    Just for fun.
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2020
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.