recording hardware/software bundle?

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by tele_savales, Jul 17, 2019.

1. tele_savales

tele_savales Tele-Meister

I'd like to be able to do some relatively silent recording in my apartment. I plan on getting a PC w at least 16GB Ram and 500gb or 1T of disc space.

I have some experience with Presonus interface, micing drum kits and laying tracks, mixing etc. I'd like to get at least an 8 xlr interface in case I need to mic a drumkit, and I will likely be going direct into my laptop and using plug-ins for my guitar sound, as micing my Champ much less my 100 watt Plexi will get me booted out of the building immediately.

The setup I've worked with was pieced together by my former bandmate, I know there are packages out there and I'm wondering what peoples experience with them, if any, is.

Thanks!

2. magicfingers99

magicfingers99 Tele-Afflicted

if you can't mic your amp without breakin the lease, I don't think they'll let you play drums in there. might want to rethink the reason for 8 inputs...

lots of great drum machines around, and plenty of drum/drummer plugins. and they won't sleep with your girlfriend...

24 track likes this.
  3. twangjeff

twangjeff Tele-Afflicted

UA Arrow would be awesome if you don't need 8 inputs.

4. Deeve

Deeve Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter

Okay - subscribed -
    My metal-head nephew is coming up Sunday for dinner, and to review my purchase options.
    I loaded the free Presonus kit, but had a slow processor w/ 2 gb ram and a small HD so it went nowhere.
    If 16GB ram is the standard - so be it.
    How about processor speed and audio card specs?
    Nephew proposes one TB for HD - is this a real need or can it go to external HD.