Recording Advice

Discussion in 'Recording In Progress' started by driver8, Feb 1, 2011.

1. driver8

driver8 Tele-Meister

Cleans sound pretty good, until I use any overdrive. Then it gets all fuzzy and gross. I'm going straight in from the line out of my SCXD, and also tried using a cheap Nady mic that I picked up for $10. If anything, the mic sounds better. :eek: I have to turn all the levels waaaaaay down when going line in - is that normal? And it still sounds distorted when using OD. Nothing is really jumping into the red, it all looks okay, only the sound sucks. I'm a total recording newb, just experimenting at this stage, but wondering what I'm doing wrong. I'm recording with Audacity if that makes a difference.

2. peteycaster

peteycaster Tele-Meister

"I'm going straight in from the line out of my SCXD"

Straight in to the computer or interface? If interface are there any level adjustments on it?

Sounds like the signal is too hot from your line out. The mic should fix this but could be it's crap because it's a $10 mic. You probably need some sort of gain stage ie. interface or pre amp.

3. paulvcarter

paulvcarter Tele-Holic

You need a pre amp, they are fairly cheap, if you use apple get an apogee, use Garageband and you can DI from your pedal boards or buy a cheap mic (SM57 @ $99)

Also always use less distortion or gain than you think you should, a lot less. Double your guitar parts for more depth and pan left and right in the mix.

4. driver8

driver8 Tele-Meister

cool! Thanks for the suggestion, I wouldn't have known to do the doubling and panning.

I don't have a mac, this is on an old PC I "repurposed" for learning basic recording. Sounds like I need a pre-amp if I want to keep using mics, or else a recording interface to go from the line out. I'll check those out - I saw some cheap interfaces at MF that looked okay. Appreciate it.

5. String Tree

String Tree Doctor of Teleocity