Recommended affordable headphones for guitar practice?

Discussion in 'Recording In Progress' started by valvestate, Jun 19, 2019.

1. valvestate

valvestate Tele-Afflicted

Hey folks! I'm a noob with headphones, I saw some cheap Marshall Major II and Major III around our area but I'm not sure if is it good enough. I've been reading some reviews from REDDIT and they seem to be flimsy

I need an affordable WIRED headphones to connect to my Yamaha THR10's headphone input.

Any suggestions?

Thank you!

2. W.L.Weller

W.L.Weller Tele-Meister

You could do a lot worse than a pair of Sony MDR-7506. Mine are 20+ years old, still working, still comfortable.

3. snorville

snorville TDPRI Member

I second the MDR-7506s. They’ve been around forever, the parts are replaceable, and there is a mod / upgrade community out there with lots of documentation available. They are high quality and comfortable for wearing over long periods. Being able to fix them and not toss them in the trash was a big selling point for me, but I haven’t had any problems yet in the years I’ve had them.

With a 2 year old, I use mine to practice all the time. It takes a little more work to get as good a tone out of my Champion 20 using the headphone out and skipping the speaker, but pays in dividends by not waking up the little one.

SolidSteak and valvestate like this.
  4. TokyoPortrait

TokyoPortrait Tele-Holic

Hi.

Consider the Shure SRH440 - cheap and quite good.

And by cheap, I mean reasonably priced yet good sound and build and that they punch above their price range. I don't mean cheap as in poorly made.

Quite a flat response, which might be good for the THR10 (I have one of those too), especially since the THR is quite 'stereo sound' like. Good for recording / mixing on too, should you go down that route.

They have detachable / replaceable cables too. Not that mine is showing any wear in years and years of use.

The next step up are the SRH840s. The bit more flavoured, warmed up version.