1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Recommendations for silicon-free polishes

Discussion in 'Finely Finished' started by Ragged Tweed, Nov 20, 2020.

1. Ragged Tweed

Ragged Tweed TDPRI Member

I sprayed nitrocellulose lacquer for the first time this fall and have been waiting to wet sand and polish it. I wanted to order the ColorTone hand polishing kit from Stew Mac but it’s been out of stock for a few months.

It comes with medium and fine polish, and swirl remover.

I can probably buy the high grit sandpaper and polish cloth at a box store, but can anyone recommend a good brand of polish and swirl remover that is silicone free? Maybe stuff I could buy at Napa or Autozone?

I’m new to this so detailed responses/tips are welcome!

Thanks!

2. Freeman Keller

Freeman Keller Poster Extraordinaire

I use Mequiars mirror glaze #2 and #3 with either a foam disk for a drill motor (all of which you can buy at an auto parts store) or with a pedestal buffer.

I just received some buffing pads from Surbuf.com recommended by some one on the DIY forum, they are designed for use on a RO sander. I'm not ready to give them a full recommendation but they look promising.,

Here is nitro on a maple top, wet sanded starting at 800 or 1000, going to 2000, them buffed with the Mequiars #2 and 3. Honestly you can skip the #2 if you sand to 2000.

IMG_4809.JPG

IMG_4810.JPG

Wildeman likes this.
  3. Ragged Tweed

Ragged Tweed TDPRI Member

That’s beautiful!
    Thank you!
    Do you sand up incrementally like 1000, 1200, 1500, 2000?

or just from 1000 right to 2000?

4. bondoman

bondoman Tele-Holic