1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Recommendations for a cheap(er) full-size acoustic

Discussion in 'Acoustic Heaven' started by srblue5, Mar 8, 2021.

1. srblue5

srblue5 Tele-Meister

I work in health care and tend to have a lot of last minute cancellations and no-shows in my schedule. I've noticed that I tend to use that sudden spare time staring at a screen of some sort (usually to review related paperwork but - not gonna lie - also social media), which is probably not good for my own mental health (on top of other work- and home-related stress).

I'm considering getting a cheap full-size acoustic guitar (preferably OM/000-sized or smaller) to keep in my office (or the trunk of my car when I'm working at different sites) so that I can do something more mentally stimulating and emotionally meaningful when I have last minute cancellations and no-shows.

Any recommendations?

I'm avoiding travel-size guitars since I have a lot of space in my car and office(s) and would like something that feels familiar-ish. I used to own a Martin Backpacker that was fun until the novelty wore off and I realized it didn't sound or feel very good to play.

Jakedog likes this.
  2. DougM

DougM Poster Extraordinaire

Martin makes their X series with solid spruce tops and composite back and sides in 00 and 000 sizes. They sound like a Martin, and the latest series now have wood fretboards and bridges instead of Richlite, although Richlite doesn't bother me. The latest ones also include a nice gig bag. There's also the great sounding all solid Dreadnought Jr. and 000 Jr., that also include a nice gig bag. Don't get one with the HPL top, only the one with a solid spruce top. The ones with HPL tops don't sound nearly as good, and don't cost much less.

Last edited: Mar 8, 2021
  3. blue17

blue17 Tele-Meister