Recent creative slump? Writers block?

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by telemnemonics, Mar 25, 2020.

1. telemnemonics

telemnemonics Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

Up until a week or two ago I was enjoying playing guitar every day and liking some of what I recorded, feeling creative and growth oriented, pushing at some limits and learning or forwarding.
    I've been playing for 40 years so it's not new, not about nailing that pesky F chord or learning a new scale.
    Generally I can enjoy a flow, surf the wave, just smash out musical sounds however they come to me.

But then my creative energies started lagging and there have been times I plug in and don't make a sound, or only play some feeble attempt at music with no inspiration or spirit behind it.

My wife is having similar problems painting, just can't get into a creative productive groove.
    Her parents are poets who live and work much of the time in Ireland where poetry and storytelling is valued by the regular culture, also teaching out of a Maine college and sometimes taking a year or two as artist in residence in the US or abroad.
    Her Father said yesterday that all his writer friends are in a slump where they cannot get themselves to write.

I can't really recall before last week ever plugging in but not playing.
    While my wife and her family are like many, experiencing a good measure of anxiety, I'm actually not really getting that issue, some nerves but it's not dogging me.
    Just a sort of missing drive that's generally always there but I can't seem to find now.

Anybody else feeling stuck?

ping-ping-clicka and nojazzhere like this.
  2. Frodebro

Frodebro Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member