Reaper convert and great tutorials!

Discussion in 'Recording In Progress' started by KCKC, Aug 11, 2019.

1. KCKC

KCKC Tele-Afflicted

I've been recording with different DAWs off and on for the past 10 years. All very basic,e entry level stuff. But was never really happy with the sound I was getting.

I was using studio one and so wanted to like it, understood how it worked was pretty comfortable with it, Again,I was never really happy with my sound...

Then i tried reaper... I've used reaper before but now I am a convert! I don't know why? Maybe it's the interface, I honestly thought it sounded better to my ears but that's silly as it's all digital. And if there was a difference I don't think I am schooled enough to hear it.

The other thing I found was reapermania on YouTube. Kenny Gioia! Does a great video tutorial series on recording your band in reaper. He really breaks it down and I find them easy to understand and implement.

Nothing's too long. They average about 12 minutes a section I've learned so much already that my sound is starting to improve!

Just wanted to put it out there if anybody else is starting out and looking for some great tutorials in reaper.

KC

Steve 78, cyclopean and suthol like this.
  2. edvard

edvard Tele-Afflicted

I just started experimenting with Reaper since they have Linux builds now, and it's what all the cool kids are using. Took me forever to figure out how to connect an input to a track, which put me off a bit; I like out-of-the-box intuitiveness. At least it's better than Tracktion in that regard. It doesn't support LV2 plugins, which is about half of my plugin collection, but there are ways around that. I'll take a look at the videos you mentioned. Should be interesting at least...

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCq297H7Ca98HlB5mVFHGSsQ

3. Jonburst

Jonburst TDPRI Member