Really loving Reaper, what is your workflow?

Discussion in 'Recording In Progress' started by omlove, Aug 15, 2019.

1. omlove

omlove Tele-Meister

Discovered and having been learning Reaper 5 for a week now. Really loved it. It's simple, intuitive but seems to have a lot of potentials through plugins.

The fact that there is a great series of video tutorials put out by Kenny Gioia really helped the starting process.

I am a hobbyist guitar player and wanting to perhaps learn to put together my own version of backing track, for instance. I have guitar, amp and PC but nothing else.

I am wondering what the minimum setup you would recommend? I can think of the following:

0. Audio interface. I think this is a must. Cheap and popular one seems to be Focusrite solo.
    0a. Then Kenny recommend using mic for guitar amp and mic for vocal. This will add to the cost a lot.
    0b. Line out from amp.
    1. MIDI keyboard, for keyboard input, mimicking piano, drum and bass. I already tried piano and drum VST recommended in Kenny's videos by using computer keyboard, but it's kind of hard to play.
    2. On the software side, there are many plugins come with Reaper 5. I am wondering what others are must have.

I already researched a lot but decided to post because I think there is always new information available and would like to hear your latest thoughts. For instance, the "Piano one" VST recommended in Kenny's video is no longer free and I had to search for older version to use it. I just saw recently Focusrite Scarlett Solo is 3rd generation now. Technology evolves so fast...

2. beagle

beagle Friend of Leo's

I use MIDI for drums, bass and keys, but I don't use a keyboard. I write my stuff in sequencer software and import the MIDI data files into Reaper. It is possible to do it all in Reaper, but the score editing isn't quite up to it except for small projects.