1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Real or fake MIA pbass?

Discussion in 'The BASS Place' started by Whatizitman, Apr 21, 2021.

1. Whatizitman

Whatizitman Friend of Leo's

Looks fishy to me. But I’m no expert on dating fenders. The E7 and the “made in the U.S.A” don’t seem right. I have a MIJ E7 which is legit. Can’t find definitive info on this for MIA, though. According to Fender’s website there should be no E7 for MIAs. And I have only seen “made in USA”. No “the”.

Fake decals? Or could this be real?

271CE61D-49FE-4512-A461-4AF9EFD2F674.jpeg

2. richiek65

richiek65 Friend of Leo's

Serial number search says MIJ, and i also have never seen "the" Screenshot_20210422_124811_com.android.chrome.jpg

nojazzhere and Fretting out like this.
  3. 2HBStrat

2HBStrat Tele-Afflicted

I believe it might be fake.

Fender didn't like to waste parts, so when Fender re-established building instruments in the USA in 1986 they used serial numbers starting in E4. My '87 Strat has an E4 serial number. However, I don't for sure know that those E4 serial numbers were used on basses, too, but I don't know why they wouldn't.

More pics please!

4. Killing Floor

Killing Floor Friend of Leo's

I am not any kind of authentication expert. But in my mind the small font "Precision Bass" instead of the larger wrap lettering is from MIJ. And I do not recognize the "Made in the USA". Can you pull the neck? There's giveaway information in the pocket and on the heel, if it is USA the markings would tell you right away.
    E+6 digits is Japan 1984-1987 according to Fender. E5, E6, E7 all models all numbers are MIJ.

aadvark likes this.
  5. PARCO

PARCO Tele-Meister

Hard to say without seeing the rest of the bass but the decal is fake. Why would anyone put a fake decal on a genuine Fender?

6. Jakedog