Re-Learning To Play Guitar – A Personal Journey

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by unixfish, Sep 30, 2019.

1. unixfish

unixfish Poster Extraordinaire

I have been playing guitar for about 40 years. "Playing" is a bit of a misnomer, however. I never really took it seriously, and just would pick up a guitar, bang out a few riffs for a few minutes, and put it back down, most of the time un-amplified. I spent 20 years when the kids were young when I did not play at all for years at a time.

About two years ago, I came to a few realizations.
    • Even though I know music from playing in band / orchestra through college, I never learned music on the guitar.
    • I never learned notes on the guitar neck. I would play riffs like "power chord, largest string, second fret, to power chord, second largest string, fourth fret". I never put together F# and C# chords.
    • I never learned a song beginning to end. I knew a few bar riff of a ton of songs, but nothing beginning to end.
    • Guitar was a distraction from being an analyst tech-based data-hound; I was resisting the distraction of the guitar becoming a project. I did not need more data to pound and consume; I needed a break.
    • Playing in band / orchestra for 10 years, we learned scales - all 12 of them - but only major scales. No minor scales. No pentatonic scales (that would not make sense there). No scale modes (oh, natural minor on the 6 note! Cool!)
    • I took guitar lessons in my 20s. They taught me major scales, but not minor. I only started to learn minor scales 5 years ago, on my own. No lights went off, but some things started to make a bit more sense.
    • Pentatonic scale? What are those? Well, I learned what those are only a few years ago. Wow, I missed a ton.
    • Why do I keep dropping picks when I play? Man that bugger is hard to hold on to.