Rattle Can Nitro Dread

Discussion in 'Finely Finished' started by JuneauMike, Sep 18, 2020.

1. JuneauMike

JuneauMike Poster Extraordinaire

I am planning on shooting nitro on a guitar body and neck this weekend and have some real misgivings about it. I am a hobbyist with limited paint experience and I live in a temperate rainforest and Autumn is here with rain and temperatures in the low to mid 50s. And true to form, that's the forecast for this weekend; rain and low to mid 50s.

Yes, that is not ideal, but as I said I live in a temperate rain forest and at the height of summer we maybe have 2 days out of the year that are perfect conditions to paint, some years we don't even get that. The rest of the time we just have to soldier on. A paint gun/compressor and the ability to mix my own lacquer with thinners and retarders to factor for the weather would be better, but I don't have that and don't intend to go into the guitar painting business.

I have a heated garage (somewhat) but it isn't well sealed from humidity, if that is even possible up here. I repurposed my wife's 6X8 greenhouse into a paint booth by wrapping it in plastic and parked it inside the garage. I've got a heat lamp inside the booth and I ran a shop vac in the lower corner of the booth to exhaust fumes as best I can. I am shooting Graacy's nitro Sonic Blue and Graacy's clear nitro over the body. Just shooting clear on the neck.

The body has sealer and primer coats on it and has been level sanded down very nicely. I plan on wiping it down with mineral spirits before shooting the color coats. I've built a horizontal holder for the two parts so that I could actually shoot them in a flat position if I want and rotate the piece to get to other sides.

Any advice, precautions, etc? I'm obviously worried about fish eye, orange peel and blushing, but understand that with this kind of paint system I pretty much have to make something out of whatever it gives me.

2. schmee