Radius Sanding Beam

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by brownale99, Mar 8, 2018.

1. brownale99

brownale99 TDPRI Member

Due to the constantly awful weather in the UK and a wife that doesn't like sawdust I'm stuck at the moment as I can only build outdoors. I've decided to have a go at a richlite PRS style fretboard while the wife is out. I managed the inlays no problem but it became apparent that I had problems sanding the radius in with a 200mm wood radius block when I checked it with a straight edge, the more I tired to level it the worse it seemed to get so I bit the bullet and bought a 400mm metal beam and all of the problems became visible straight away.
    IMG_3692.JPG IMG_3693.JPG
    Is there an easy way to sand in the radius with the shorter (and cheaper) block or is it a case of cheap tools poor results? I made a radius jig and used that for the first few fretboards with no issues, this is my first attempt at hand sanding one.

2. abrianb

abrianb Tele-Meister

It looks like you have been doing the work instead of your paper. Pushing down to one side and harder in some places than others. It will take time and a light touch to even it out.

brownale99 likes this.
  3. abrianb

abrianb Tele-Meister

Also only use full length strokes.

brownale99 likes this.
  4. PinewoodRo

PinewoodRo Tele-Afflicted

I use a vertical board clamped alongside the length of the neck to keep the block straight and perpendicular. Really helped for me.

Arch Stanton, CFFF and brownale99 like this.
  5. guitarbuilder

guitarbuilder Telefied Ad Free Member

The longer metal beam is the way to go. It has helped me produce much better necks than the shorter wooden blocks.

brownale99 likes this.
  6. brownale99

brownale99 TDPRI Member

Thanks folks, feedback appreciated as always.

Yeah, I must admit I did get a bit impatient once my arms started to tire, it seemed to take an age to sand.