Radius block vs. bar for fret level.

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by backporchmusic, Apr 15, 2018.

1. backporchmusic

backporchmusic Friend of Leo's

Is a radius block more or less effective at fret leveling than a traditional bar?

Is it more or less problematic?

And yes, I know people who ave been doing this for years will have lots of ideas--but I'm just getting started, so keep that in mind. o_O

2. moosie

moosie Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

I've only been at it for a couple years. I prefer the bar. Stay generally in line with each string, and radius doesn't matter. Compound is as easy as 9.5, 12, 7.25. Just need the one tool.

I find that even careful pressure on a radius block wears more on the edges than the center.

If you think about what a string sees, there is no radius, just one fret top after another.

Last edited: Apr 15, 2018
    backporchmusic likes this.
  3. 5ofeight

5ofeight Tele-Holic

It wont matter much what you use as long as you start out with a flat neck, Though in saying that I did watch a video (somewhere of someone) who used a truss rod and 3 brass nuts. I'll have a quick google around and see if I can find the youtube video agaion.

backporchmusic likes this.
  4. backporchmusic

I wasn't sure if the radius blocks were for shaping an unfretted board, or perhaps a first pass once new frets have been installed.

I didn't know if people were actually using them as leveling tools until I looked at the recent sandpaper/leveling thread. Trying to get a feeling for what people do with them. I think the point about 'think about what a string sees' is very valid.

5. 5ofeight

5ofeight Tele-Holic

I am sure this is the one, bit on the long side but Sams Youtubes are normally very informative indeed.

6. highwaycat

highwaycat Tele-Meister

I recommend learning the basics like Ron's tutorial, then later on you can decide if you want to try different techniques and tools. I only use radius blocks during a refret.