Quick connectors of some type for pickups?

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by freatles, May 7, 2019.

1. freatles

freatles TDPRI Member

I wonder what would be the smart thing to use for quick (re-)connecting the wiring?

2. Old Deaf Roadie

Old Deaf Roadie Tele-Holic

I have no experience with it, but Guitarfetish has a system you can solder onto your components. I think it is called Quick Plug, or something similar. There may be similar systems by other brands.

Dismalhead and freatles like this.
  3. Freeman Keller

Freeman Keller Tele-Afflicted

I've built some guitars where it is difficult to get inside to unsolder pickup wires so rather than a quick disconnect I just put little terminal strips in the cavities and run the wires from there more or less permanently. The terminals I used were intended for strain gauge (load cell) wiring which is a micro volt signal much like the low voltage from a guitar pup. I don't remember the brand.

I used a three terminal strip because I want to tie two of the wires from the humbuckers together (the ones that are often used for coil splitting. If I run that to my controls I can ground one of the coils to "tap" or "split" it.

The green wire in the photo goes to the bridge stud to be the string ground.

IMG_3323.JPG

If I ever need to change or remove the pups it is totally simple and it allowed me to wire the guitar without installing them.

freatles likes this.
  4. trev333

trev333 Telefied Ad Free Member

I got a kit guitar once that had plugs on the hookup wires.. too easy...

RC models use a lot of plug types, there should be a bunch of them on ebay....

wiring plugs.JPG

freatles likes this.
  5. jvin248

jvin248 Poster Extraordinaire

I've used RCA plugs and jacks, like you've seen on old VCR patch cables.
    The RC car connectors are a pretty good option, cheap for a pack on Amazon. However not shielded like the RCA cables are. I use RCA cables from the volume to the jack to get the shielding benefit.