1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Questions about my Build

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by Bejnay, Jan 27, 2021.

1. Bejnay

Bejnay TDPRI Member

Hey Everyone!

been a member here awhile, but rarely post. I’m hoping to mine you fine folks for some advice/information. I’m building my dad a custom tele for his birthday (in May), and this is my first attempt at building. I have the neck and body. The body is an XGP from Guitar Fetish, which uses a ‘61 tele custom as its template. I bought the hardware and everything to finish it already. I just received the neck, which was bought from TheStratosphere parts. It’s a vintage spec neck with the 25.5” scale, 11/32” holes for tuners, a 1 5/8” nut, and no pre-drills for string trees.

My questions are as follows:

1. Do I need string trees?
    2. Related to string trees, will vintage staggered tuners remove the need for them?
    3. Anyone have any suggestions for which tuners would be best for this build?
    4. Am I correct that I need the 43mm slotted nut? (I’m awful with converting the fraction)

Thank you, to any and all of you willing to share your expertise. I really appreciate it. This project means the world to me, so any help is great help. I’ll try to attach some pics below. 9263F73E-8F5E-4C5C-AC99-C75319060BE3.png 580CFB3A-1EC3-4448-84DE-3CC9D0B718D1.png 20B2409D-C433-4DE6-BF6D-4B45B0CC956D.jpeg 56935491-FFC5-4DCC-A349-F5F212DE82E6.jpeg

2. G&Lplayer

G&Lplayer Tele-Meister

I use staggered locking tuners without string trees, works for me. I like Sperzel tuners, pricey but nice.

RedRhino, Bejnay and wadeeinkauf like this.
  3. Deeve

Deeve Poster Extraordinaire Silver Supporter

Fine looking neck & body there.
    :cool:

hemingway and Bejnay like this.
  4. Boreas

Boreas Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter