Question on PCB notation

Discussion in 'Burnt Fingers DIY Effects' started by Meteorman, Jan 8, 2020.

1. Meteorman

Meteorman Tele-Holic

Kind of a pedal noob here. Did some BYOC units, basically paint by the numbers.
    Now I'm looking to build one of the overdrive units off the Effects Layout site, and the instructions are a little more sketchy (i.e. they assume I actually know pedal circuits).
    I'm stumped already by the notation on the PCB that the Effects Layout site sells.
    The I/O jack connection pads are laid out, left to right "IN" "GND" "L-" "OUT".
    My question is: what is the "L-" ? What gets connected there ?
    The schematic is here: http://effectslayouts.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/11/Exemplar-Drive-build-doc.pdf

thanks for any help!
    this may not be my last question before this is done ....
    /mike PCB.jpg

2. pj1440

pj1440 TDPRI Member

I don't know much about pedals, but I can read the diagram.
    It looks like it will cause the LED to be lit when L- is shorted to GND.
    My guess is that it needs to go to a 3PDT bypass footswitch so it can be shorted to ground on one of the poles (the other two poles to do the bypass) when not in bypass and so indicate the bypass is not active.

zippofan and Meteorman like this.
  3. matmosphere

matmosphere Tele-Holic

PJ1440 is correct.

There is a CLR and a LED directly under the gain switch that show when the pedal is on. The L- is to activate the LED when the pedal is turned on. The ground from the switch that activates the LED should be connected there.