QUESTION: Can this be Done on a Tele?

Discussion in 'Just Pickups' started by AFSOL, May 17, 2014.

1. AFSOL

AFSOL TDPRI Member

Greetings, All.

Per recommendation from a guitar tech, I have registered with TDPRI to ask a specific question.

My question is, is this technically / physically possible with a tele.

BACKGROUND

I have been playing for over 30 years, but my skill and knowledge do not reflect that. : ) I am not a technical person, this is just an idea that popped in my head, based on my musical tastes and preference in guitars.

I would like to get a Squier Telecaster Custom, which has the regular, full size Les Paul style humbucker pickups. I would love a Tele that I can get both a twanky, country Tele sound, and a warm, hard rock (dare I say), metal sound. To that end, I would like to buy two sets of SC size pickups. I would like to take the HBs out, and replace with a set of GFS "Pure Vintage" Neovin Noiseless Tele Pair (http://www.guitarfetish.com/Pure-Vintage-Neovin-Noiseless-Tele-Pair_p_651.html), and a set of Calibrated Pickup Set "Hot Lead" Lil Puncher Import Telecaster (http://www.guitarfetish.com/Calibrated-Pickup-Set-Hot-Lead-Lil-Puncher-Import-Telecaster_p_149.html).

Basically the two SC size PUs would go where the full size HBs once were, and the bridge PUs from each set would go into the bridge slot, and the two neck PUs from each set would go in the neck slot. And then have a switch or push/pulls to go back and forth between the two sets / tones.

....... I plan on doing the same thing with my Agile AL-2000 Les Paul copy.

So, …. is this possible?

While it makes sense that two SCs slammed together would fit where a full size HB once was, I do not presume that. True?