1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Question about Otis Redding

Discussion in 'Music to Your Ears' started by krapyajleinad, May 30, 2012.

1. krapyajleinad

krapyajleinad Former Member

I'm just getting into Otis Redding and soul and R&B and more into Steve Cropper's stuff (I have his With a Little Help From My Friends album but to ME it is a little meh), namely his work with the Booker T and the Mg's and I'm wondering, are there any specific albums that Otis put out with just Steve Cropper on guitar or is it all mixed and matched?

Do you guys know the other guitarist(s) that played with him and the albums that they possibly only played on?

Oh and do you guys have any other recommendations for this kind genre (I'm already sort of familiar with Redding, Booker T and the MG's, the Royale 5's, Cornell Dupree, John Lee Hooker, James Brown, Ray Charles)?

Thanks in advance.

2. Jim W

Jim W Friend of Leo's

Johnny Jenkins played guitar on several of his early albums (cropper is also them). The live lps had other bands besides BT and MGs + horns. Check out Otis discography on wikipedia they define alot of the musicians on the different LPs (mostly BT and MGs + horns). Johnny Jenkins made atleast 4 albums which I like all of them. His first one (on Capricorn records) had Duane Allman and others from the ABB. Second had Jack Pearson on it.

3. benderb9

benderb9 Tele-Afflicted

see if you can locate a copy of the entire Montery Pop set...it is AWESOME! If the band is cookin' it's the MG's with Duck and Steve Cropper. As far as I know Steve and Booker were the house band and pretty much played all of Otis's songs..Steve wrote Sitting on the Dock, Otis's last song before the plane crash. Another tragedy losing Otis for sure...

4. Telemarkman

Telemarkman Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member