PRS style HSH wiring and switch mounting

JohnnyThul

Tele-Holic
Hi all,

As there were some fabulous PRS hollowbody build threads started here weeks ago, I was inspired to make a PRS style guitar as well. So far everything is pretty completed, but I now have to decide on the switching of this thing.

I am not good at making wiring schematics, for some reason, I just never had the fun to put much effort into it. So maybe some electronic wizards here can help me out?

What I have:

- Bluesbucker neck
- Singlecoil middle
- humbucker bridge

What I initially wanted:

- Master Vol
- Master Tone
- 3 way toggle for the humbuckers
- Mini switch to add the singlecoil in every position
- Mini switch to split the neck humbucker

Combinations I definitely want to have:

- neck humbucker
- neck humbucker split
- neck humbucker split + middle Singlecoil
- neck + bridge humbucker
- bridge humbucker
- bridge humbucker + middle singlecoil

Now, I am not sure this will work. So another option would be to use a 5way switch and a mini switch to split the neck humbucker.

Now, I like the idea of a 5 way switch, but how do you fit that to a carved top? I really have no idea, how to do that, besides doing it freehand which is, well, not the best option, I guess :)

I could use a rotary switch, but these are not very user friendly imho.

Any ideas? I would love to make the final electronics layout on the weekend to start the fun part of sanding as soon as possible.

Best regards

Jonas

Nicko_Lps

Tele-Meister
Any ideas? I would love to make the final electronics layout on the weekend to start the fun part of sanding as soon as possible.
In the guitar i made for myself, i used a 3 way toggle LP style, a middle pickup on/off mini switch and split coil on both humbuckers mini switch.

I came to realize that split coils is not even close to single coils, its just a different tone that's all. If i want single coils, i have to grab a guitar with single coils.

JohnnyThul

Tele-Holic