1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Product design roundtable

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by Digital Larry, Dec 5, 2020.

1. Digital Larry

Digital Larry Friend of Leo's

I've been an engineer for many years, and some of my ideas actually wound up manifested in products that people actually bought. But many more ideas have simply gone by the wayside. After all, ideas are cheap. Inspiration vs. perspiration, etc.

One that I really liked was the internet connected sofa, so wherever you were in the world, you could have an accurate accounting of coins, popcorn, cat hair, car keys, etc. under the cushions.

This morning I started thinking about all the attenuators that are being sold because, even if you could get a gig these days, everyone is telling you to turn down. Since even 1 watt is too loud at home, everyone (including me) is getting some sort of thing to turn that excess rockin' power into heat. So, what could we do with that heat beyond the current "space heater" approach?

a) hot dog/burger grill - my dad used to wrap steaks and hot dogs in foil, wire them onto the Chevy II wagon's exhaust manifold, and by the time we got to the beach, hey it was steaming and ready. I think this was an idea from Popular Mechanics.

b) panini press - similar idea (I mean how many unique ideas am I gonna get out of this anyway) with the added bonus of the cheese dripping out and cascading off your amp just as you hit the ten minute mark on "Rockin' in the Free World".

Whattya got?

That Cal Webway and TheGoodTexan like this.
  2. Buckaroo65

Buckaroo65 Tele-Holic

Dog leg dynamo. When you scratch a dog in a certain spot and his leg moves uncontrollably, hook it up to a stick that turns a wheel that drives a dynamo. Make your dog happy enough and you can watch tv all night!

3. thesamhill